Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Preservation Board, State*

6 Members

General Information

Agency #: 809 201 East 14th Street, Suite 950P.O. Box 13286Austin, TX 78711-3286


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Chair The Honorable Greg Abbott Austin
Co-Vice Chair(s) The Honorable Dan Patrick Houston
The Honorable Dade Phelan Beaumont
Board Member(s) Rep. Will Metcalf Conroe
Sen. Charles Schwertner, M.D. Georgetown
Public Member Alethea Swann Bugg San Antonio, 02-01-2025


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Executive Director Rod Welsh (512) 463-5495 / (512) 463-3372


The board oversees preservation and maintenance of the Texas State Capitol, Capitol Visitors Center, Texas State Cemetery and the Texas Governor's Mansion, and operates the Bullock Texas State History Museum.

* Subject to the Texas Sunset Act; will be reviewed in 2029.