Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Veterinary Medical Examiners, Texas Board of*

9 Members - Term: 6 Years; 5 Veterinary Members; 1 Veterinary Technician; 3 Public Members - 6 years

General Information

Agency #: 578 1801 Congress Ave.Suite 8.800Austin, TX 78701


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Chair Steven Golla, DVM New Braunfels, 08-26-2027
Vice President Sandra "Lynn" Criner DVM Needville, 08-26-2027
Secretary Samantha Mixon, DVM Boerne, 08-26-2023
Board Member(s) Sue Allen, LVT Waco, 09-26-2025
Raquel Olivier, CPA Houston, 08-26-2023
Keith Pardue Austin, 08-26-2027
Randall Skaggs, DVM Perryton, 08-26-2023
Michael White, DVM Conroe, 08-26-2025
Victoria Whitehead, JD Lubbock, 08-06-2025


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Executive Director Brittany Sharkey (512) 305-7555
Director of Finance Kandace Van Vlerah (512) 305-7557
Director of Licensing & Compliance Jerod Honrath (512) 305-7569
Director of Enforcement Mike Tacker (512) 913-6377
Licensing Program Supervisor Wendy Womack (512) 305-7863
General Counsel Kelly Phelps (512) 305-7565


The Texas State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners operates under the authority of Chapter 801, Texas Occupations Code. The Veterinary Licensing Act, along with the Board, was created in 1911. The purpose of the Board is to protect the public by ensuring that persons entering the profession meet minimum academic and examination requirements.

The Board also establishes and enforces policies to ensure the best possible quality of veterinary services for the citizens of Texas. The board may adopt and amend rules of professional conduct as appropriate to establish and maintain a high standard of integrity, skills and practice in the profession of veterinary medicine.

* Subject to the Texas Sunset Act; will be reviewed in 2027.