Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Emergency Communications, Commission on State*

12 Members: 9 Appointed Commissioners - 6 Years; 3 Ex Officio Commissioners

General Information

Agency #: 477 1801 Congress Ave.Suite 11.100Austin 78701


Office Office Holder Represents / Term Ends
Chair James Beauchamp Speaker's Appointee, 09-01-2025
Commissioner(s) Sue Brannon Lt. Governor's Appointee, 09-01-2023
The Honorable Debi Hays Governor's Appointee, 09-01-2023
Lucille Maes, LP Speaker's Appointee, 01-01-2025
Jack D. Miller Lt. Governor's Appointee, 09-01-2021
Clinton Sawyer Governor's Appointee, 09-01-2025
Cathy Skurow Governor's Appointee, 09-01-2023
Larry L. "Chip" VanSteenberg Governor's Appointee, 09-01-2027
Von Washington, Sr. Governor's Appointee, 09-01-2027
Ex Officio Member(s) Wayne Egeler Department of Information Resources
Thomas Gleeson Public Utility Commission
Jeff Hoogheem Department of State Health Services


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Executive Director Kelli Merriweather (512) 305-6938
Director of Operations Mia Villarreal (512) 305-6916 / (512) 305-6937
General Counsel Patrick Tyler (512) 305-6915
Director of IT Bob Cadenhead (512) 305-6919
Chief Program Technical Officer Kevin Rohrer (512) 305-6780
Deputy for Finance Management Lorrain Meek (512) 305-6943
Poison Control Program and TPCN Manager James Johnson (512) 305-6909
Deputy for Human Resources Position Vacant (512) 305-6925 / (512) 305-6907


The commission helps cities, counties, regional planning commissions and emergency communication districts implement and maintain enhanced 9-1-1 emergency communications; and administers the statewide poison control and prevention program through six regional poison control centers.

* Subject to the Texas Sunset Act; will be reviewed in 2027.