Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Fire Protection, Texas Commission on*

13 Members - Term: 6 Years

General Information

Agency #: 411 1701 N. Congress, Suite 1-105P.O. Box 2286Austin, TX 78768-2286


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Chair J.P. Steelman Longview, 02-01-2023
Commissioner(s) Christopher G. Cantu Round Rock, 02-01-2027
David Coatney College Station, 02-01-2027
Sue De Villez Georgetown, 02-01-2025
Michael Glynn Roanoke, 02-01-2027
Paul Hamilton Amarillo, 02-01-2025
Mike Jones Burleson, 02-01-2023
Clyde Loll Huntsville, 02-01-2027
Bob Morgan Fort Worth, 02-01-2023
Mala Sharma Houston, 02-01-2023
Tim Smith Lubbock, 02-01-2027
Kelly Vandygriff Abernathy, 02-01-2025
Rusty Wilson Katy, 02-01-2025


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Executive Director Mike Wisko (512) 936-3812
Executive Assistant Amanda Khan (512) 936-3812
Public Information Coordinator Grace Wilson (512) 936-3850


Created by the Legislature in 1969, the Texas Commission on Fire Protectionís mission is to aid in the protection of lives and property of Texas citizens, through the development and enforcement of recognized professional standards for individuals and the fire service.

* Subject to the Texas Sunset Act; will be reviewed in 2033.