Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Engineers and Land Surveyors, Texas Board of Professional*

5 Professional Engineer Members - 6 Years; 1 Registered Professional Land Surveyor Member - 6 Years; 3 Public Members - 6 Years; 1 General Land Office Member - Unlimited Term

General Information

Agency #: 460 1917 S. Interstate 35Austin, TX 78741


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Chair Sina K. Nejad, P.E., P.Eng. Beaumont, 09-26-2025
Vice Chair Ademola "Peter" Adejokun, P.E. Arlington, 09-26-2029
Secretary Albert Cheng Houston, 09-26-2027
Treasurer Kiran Shah Richmond, 09-26-2029
Board Member(s) Karen Friese, P.E. Austin, 09-26-2027
Roberto Moreno, P.E. El Paso, 09-26-2029
Catherine Norwood, P.E. Midland, 08-26-2027
Public Member Marguerite McClinton Stoglin Ph.D. Grand Prairie, 09-26-2025
Ex Officio Member Mark J. Neugebauer, R.P.L.S., L.S.L.S. Round Rock
RPLS Member Coleen M. Johnson, R.P.L.S. Leander, 09-26-2025


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Executive Director Lance Kinney, Ph.D., P.E. (512) 440-3080
Deputy Executive Director Position Vacant (512) 440-3054
Executive Assistant Position Vacant (512) 440-3051
Director of Licensing and Registration Rick Strong, P.E. (512) 440-3050
Director of Compliance and Enforcement Michael Sims, P.E. (512) 440-3082
Chief Financial Officer Jeff Mutscher (512) 440-3063
Human Resources/ Risk Coordinator Esperanza Jaimes (512) 440-3067
Director of Operations Mason Schoolfield (512) 440-3056
Legislative Liaison Lance Kinney, Ph.D., P.E. (512) 440-3080


Effective September 1, 2019, HB1523 created the Texas Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors. This is a merger of both the engineering (TBPE) and surveying (TBPLS) boards.

* Subject to the Texas Sunset Act; will be reviewed in 2025.