Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Agriculture, Texas Department of*

1 Member - 4 Years

General Information

Agency #: 551


1700 N. Congress, 11th FloorP.O. Box 12847Austin, TX 78711-2847


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Commissioner of Agriculture The Honorable Sid Miller Stephenville, 12-31-2022

Commissioner's Staff

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Deputy Commissioner Jason Fearneyhough (512) 463-1408
Special Assistant to the Commissioner Kevin Moomaw (512) 475-1840
Executive Assistant/Scheduler Rebecca Bustamante (512) 463-1408


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Assistant Commissioner for Agency Administration Terry Keel (512) 475-0133
Director for Licensing and Data Quality Christina Osburn (512) 463-7846
Director of Agency Administration Bertha Serna (512) 475-0133
Chief of Operational Support Michael Clark (512) 463-7488
Administrator for Human Resources Cynthia Mendoza (512) 463-7423
Coordinator for Human Resources Emilia Zarate (512) 463-9305

Agriculture & Consumer Protection

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Director for Agricultural and Commodity Programs Randy Rivera (512) 463-8779
Director for Consumer Product Protection Christina Osborn (512) 463-5706
Director for Environmental and Biosecurity Programs Dale Scott (512) 936-2535
Senior Director for Consumer Service Protection Leslie Smith (512) 475-1620
Administrator for Regulatory Affairs Philip Wright (512) 463-6514
Liaison for Regional Operations Freddy Vest (512) 463-7883

External Relations, Communications and Legislative Affairs

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Assistant Commissioner Walt Roberts (512) 936-9583
Director for Communications Mark Loeffler (512) 475-1669
Policy Specialist Jordan Gregory (512) 463-7516

Financial Services and Information Resources

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Chief Financial Officer Shirley Beaulieu (512) 463-1701
Administrator for Financial Compliance, Procurement & HUB April Bacon (512) 463-7493
Director for Accounting Irma Rodriguez (512) 463-7487
Director for HUB/MWBE Programs Jack Hammond (512) 463-5936
Chief Information Officer Position Vacant (512) 475-0124

Food and Nutrition Division

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Assistant Commissioner Angela Olige (512) 463-8583
Administrator for Food and Nutrition Catherine Wright-Steele (512) 463-2164
Administrator for Food and Nutrition Gwendolyn McDade (512) 936-3910

Office of Internal Audit

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Internal Auditor Zoi Kondis (512) 463-8251

Legal Division

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
General Counsel Tim Kleinschmidt (512) 463-6260
Lead Deputy General Counsel Stephen Dillon (512) 463-0735
Deputy General Counsel/Ethics Officer Susan Maldonado (512) 463-6591
Deputy General Counsel for Enforcement David Castillo (512) 463-3559

Trade, Business Development, Water and Rural Affairs

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Assistant Commissioner Dan Hunter (512) 463-9132
Administrator for Trade and Business Development Karen Reichek (512) 936-2450


Regional and Sub-Offices:
Region 1
West Texas Regional Office
Mark Bills, Regional Director
4502 Englewood Ave.
Lubbock, TX 79414
Fax: 800/831-3746

Region 2
North Texas Regional Office
Thomas Northcutt, Regional Director
1720 Regal Row, Suite 118
Dallas, TX 75235
Fax: 888/205-6335

Region 3
Gulf Coast Regional Office
Dudley Allen, Regional Director
5425 Polk Street, G-20
Houston, TX 77023
Fax: 888/223-5606

Region 4
San Antonio Regional Office
Ken Weidenfeller, Regional Director
8918 Tesoro Dr., Suite 120
San Antonio, TX 78217
Fax: 888/203-1235

Region 5
Valley Regional Office
Jose Sanchez, Regional Director
900-B East Expressway 83
San Juan, TX 78589
Fax: 800/909-8167

The Legislature established the Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA) in 1907. Since that time, the agency has evolved from its original responsibility for gathering information and statistics on crops and livestock to incorporate a largely regulatory function, and most recently to include marketing, economic development, nutrition functions and rural affairs. Today, the agency encompasses all phases of modern agriculture, agricultural businesses, rural communities and consumer protection.

* Subject to the Texas Sunset Act; will be reviewed in 2021.