Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Public Safety, Texas Department of*

5 Members - Term: 6 Years

General Information

Agency #: 405

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 4087Austin, TX 78773

Physical Address

805 N. Lamar Blvd.Austin, TX 78752


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Chairman Steven P. Mach Houston, 12-31-2028
Commissioner(s) Nelda Luce Blair The Woodlands, 02-01-2026
Lawrence "Larry" Long Dallas, 02-01-2028
Steve Stodghill Dallas, 01-01-2030
Dale Wainwright Austin, 01-01-2026


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Director Steven McCraw (512) 424-7771
Deputy Director Lt. Colonel of Homeland Security Freeman Martin (512) 424-2368
Lt. Colonel of Law Enforcement Operations Jason Taylor (512) 424-7774
Lt. Colonel of Law Enforcement Services Walt Goodson (512) 424-7901
Chief Aircraft Operations Stacy Holland (512) 424-0286
Chief Auditor Catherine Melvin (512) 424-7573
Chief Crime Lab Brady Mills (512) 424-5461
Chief Crime Records Michelle Farris (512) 424-2470
Chief Criminal Investigations Floyd Goodwin (512) 424-2130
Chief Dispute Resolution Officer Kevin Meade (512) 424-7417
Chief Driver License Sheri Gipson (512) 424-7772
Chief Equal Employment Office Adam Kinslow (512) 424-5213
Chief Executive Protection Bureau Rudy Resendez (512) 463-6601
Chief Financial Officer Suzy Whittenton (512) 424-2075
Chief and General Counsel Phillip Adkins (512) 424-2890
Chief of Government Relations Kevin Cooper (512) 424-7272
Chief, Texas Highway Patrol Orlando Alanis (512) 424-2111
Chief Information Officer Bryan Lane (512) 424-2280
Chief Infrastructure Operations Jason Hester (512) 424-5818
Inspector General Phillip Ayala (512) 424-2054
Chief, Intelligence and Counter Terrorism Dale Avant (512) 424-5030
Chief, Media & Communications Travis Considine (512) 424-2606
Chief, Regulatory Services Wayne Mueller (512) 424-2100
Chief Texas Rangers Scotty Shiver (512) 424-7700
Chief Training Operations James Thomas (512) 424-2212

Regional Directors

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Capitol District Gabriel Ortiz (512) 463-3472
El Paso Jose Sanchez (915) 849-4319
Garland Jeremy Sherrod (214) 861-2460
Houston A. Gerald Brown (281) 517-1210
Lubbock Joe Longway (806) 740-8711
San Antonio Vince Luciano (210) 531-4325
Weslaco Victor Escalon (956) 565-7100


The Legislature created the Department of Public Safety (DPS) in 1935 by consolidating the Texas Rangers from the Adjutant General, and the Texas Highway Patrol from the State Highway Department. The Rangers trace their history to 1823 when Stephen F. Austin hired 10 men to protect the colonists, and the Highway Patrol dates back to the late 1920s. Today, DPS' mission is to protect and serve Texas. The agency accomplishes its mission through four main goals: combat crime and terrorism (including matters related to homeland security); enhance highway and public safety; and enhance public safety licensing and regulatory services (including driver licenses, license to carry a handgun and private security occupational licenses).
The commission formulates and oversees policies for the Texas Department of Public Safety.

* Subject to the Texas Sunset Act; will be reviewed in 2031.