Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Forensic Science Commission

9 Members - Term: 2 Years

General Information

1700 North Congress Avenue, Suite 445Austin, TX 78701


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Chair Jeffrey J. Barnard, M.D. Dallas, 09-01-2023
Board Member(s) Bruce Budowle, Ph.D. North Richland Hills, 09-01-2022
Dr. Patrick Buzzini Spring, 09-01-2022
Michael Coble Ph.D. Fort Worth, 09-01-2023
Mark Daniel, J.D. Fort Worth, 09-01-2023
Nancy Downing, Ph.D. Bryan, 09-01-2022
Jasmine Drake, Ph.D. Houston, 09-01-2022
Sarah Kerrigan, Ph.D. The Woodlands, 09-01-2023
The Honorable Jarvis Parsons Bryan, 09-01-2023


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Commission Coordinator Kathryn Adams (512) 936-0770
General Counsel Lynn M. Robitaille Garcia (512) 936-0770
Associate General Counsel Leigh M. Tomlin (512) 936-0661
Senior Staff Attorney Robert Smith (512) 463-1521


The commission provides oversight over Texas crime laboratories and other entities conducting forensic analyses for use in criminal proceedings and provides an accreditation mandate responsible for establishing procedures, policies, and practices to improve the quality of forensic analyses conducted in Texas.