Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Diabetes Council, Texas

11 Members - 6 Years; 2 Ex Officio Members

General Information

c/o Texas Dept. of State Health ServicesP.O. Box 149347Austin 78714-9347


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Chair Feyi Obamehinti, Ed.D. Keller, 02-01-2023
Board Member(s) Gary Francis, MD, PhD San Antonio, 02-01-2027
Felicia Fruia-Edge Rancho Viejo, 02-01-2023
Stephen Ponder, MD Belton, 02-01-2025
Ardis Reed, MPPH, RD, LD, CDE Hideaway, 02-01-2023
Jason Ryan, JD Houston, 02-01-2025
Maryanne Strobel, RN, MSN, CDCES Cypress, 02-01-2027
Christine Wicke, PharmD McKinney, 02-01-2025
Public Member(s) Dirrell Jones, JD Farmers Branch, 02-01-2025
Aida "Letty" Moreno-Brown, RD, LD El Paso, 02-21-2027
Ninfa Peņa-Purcell, PhD College Station, 02-01-2027
Health and Human Services Commission Mitchel Abramsky, MD, MPH
Teacher Retirement System Umme Salama Oan Ali
Texas Department of State Health Services Kelly Fegan-Bohm, MD, MPH, MA, MD
Texas Workforce Commission Lisa Golden, MAEdHD
Employees Retirement System Diana Kongevick


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
DSHS, Diabetes Prevention and Control Program Specialist Priya Patel (512) 776-2834 / (512) 776-7408


The council addresses issues affecting people with diabetes. Advises the Legislature on legislation that is needed to develop and maintain a statewide system of quality education services for all people with diabetes and health care professionals who offer diabetes treatment and education.