Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Texas Holocaust, Genocide, and Antisemitism Advisory Commission

15 Members - Term: 4 Years

General Information

Agency #: 808 P.O. Box 12276Austin, TX 78711-2276


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Chair Lynne Aronoff Houston, 02-01-2023
Vice Chair Anne U. Clutterbuck Houston, 02-01-2019
Commissioner(s) Jeffrey Beck Dallas, 02-01-2023
Fran Berg Dallas, 02-01-2021
Laura Ehrenberg-Chesler San Antonio, 04-13-2021
Rabbi Ilan Emanuel Corpus Christi, 02-01-2023
Jonathan Gurwitz San Antonio, 02-01-2021
Lucy Taus Katz Austin, 02-01-2025
Matthew A. Kornhauser Houston, 02-01-2019
Sandra B. Lessig Houston, 02-01-2019
The Honorable Elliott Naishtat Austin, 05-10-2021
David A. Patterson, PhD Dallas, 04-13-2021
Gilbert Tuhabonye Austin, 02-01-2019
Providence Umugwaneza San Antonio, 02-01-2025
Edward B. Westermann, PhD San Antonio, 02-01-2021


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Executive Director Joy Nathan (512) 463-8815
Director of Programs Cheyanne Perkins (512) 463-5674
Director of Education J.E. Wolfson, PhD (512) 936-2547
Director of Outreach and Communications Christian Acevedo (512) 463-7998 / (512) 463-6084
Administrative Assistant Elizabeth Langford (512) 463-2377


The commission was established to ensure that resources are available to students, educators and the general public regarding the Holocaust and other genocides. Created by Senate Bill (SB) 482, 81st Texas Legislature.

Subject to HB 3257, the name of the Commission, and the list of Commissioners, changed September 1, 2021. The commission is an advisory commission to the Texas Historical Commission.