Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Judicial Branch Certification Commission*

Return to Judicial ABCs

9 Members - Term: 6 Years; 5 Judges, 4 Public Members appointed by the Supreme Court


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Chair The Honorable Lee Hamilton Abilene, 02-01-2019
Vice Chair The Honorable Sid L. Harle San Antonio, 02-01-2023
Commissioner(s) Velma Arellano Edinburg, 02-01-2021
Mark Blenden Dallas, 02-01-2023
Don D. Ford Houston, 02-01-2019
Anne Murray Moore Edinburg, 02-01-2021
The Honorable William C. "Bill" Sowder Lubbock, 02-01-2025
The Honorable Polly Spencer San Antonio, 02-01-2019
The Honorable Victor Villarreal Laredo, 02-01-2025


The Judicial Branch Certification Commission (JBCC) was established by the Texas Legislature, 83rd Regular Session, in Senate Bill 966. The nine member JBCC oversees certification, registration, licensing and regulation of court reporters and court reporting firms, guardians, process servers, and licensed court interpreters, and began operations on September 1, 2014. The Certification Division at the Office of Court Administration provides staff and support for the Commission.

* Subject to the Texas Sunset Act; will be reviewed in 2019.