Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Sulphur River Basin Authority*

7 Members - Term: 6 Years

General Information

115 W. 1st #102Mount Pleasant, TX 75455


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Presiding Officer Kelly Mitchell Texarkana, 02-01-2029
Board Member(s) Gary Cheatwood Bogata, 02-01-2023
Emily Glass Sulphur Springs, 02-01-2027
Robert "Reeves" Hayter Paris, 02-01-2025
Kirby Hollingsworth Mt. Vernon, 02-01-2027
Wallace "Wally" Kraft Paris, 02-01-2025
Position Open 02-01-2029


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Executive Director David Weidman (903) 223-7887 / (903) 223-7988
Administrative Assistant Christi McIntosh (903) 223-7887 / (903) 223-7988


The Board has the responsibility to construct, maintain, and operate inside the state and in the watershed of the Sulphur River and its tributaries inside or outside the boundaries of the authority any works considered essential to the operation of the authority and for its administration in controlling, storing, preserving, and distributing the water of the Sulphur River and its tributary streams, including the storm water and floodwater.

* Subject to the Texas Sunset Act; will be reviewed in 2029.