Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Optometry Board, Texas*

9 Members - Term: 6 Years

General Information

Agency #: 514 1801 Congress AveSuite 9.300Austin 78701


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Chair Mario Gutierrez, O.D. San Antonio, 01-31-2023
Vice Chair Ronald L. Hopping, O.D., M.P.H. Houston, 01-31-2027
Secretary Judith Chambers Austin, 01-31-2025
Board Member(s) John Todd Cornett, O.D. Amarillo, 01-31-2025
Carey A. Patrick O.D. Allen, 01-31-2027
Meghan Schutte, O.D Austin, 01-31-2025
Bill Thompson O.D. Richardson, 01-31-2023
Public Member(s) Rene D. Peņa El Paso, 01-31-2027
Ty Sheehan San Antonio, 01-31-2023


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Executive Director Janice S. McCoy (512) 305-8500 / (512) 305-8501


Board members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate to serve for a six-year term. The full Board consists of nine members: six members are practicing optometrists and three are public members. The Board is required to meet at last two times a year, but customarily convenes on a quarterly basis. Board members actively serve on board committees, establish policy, adopt substantive and procedural rules, and assist with the examination of licensure and enforcement activities for the protection of the public.

* Subject to the Texas Sunset Act; will be reviewed in 2029.