Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Historical Commission, Texas*

15 Members - Term: 6 Years

General Information

Agency #: 808 1511 Colorado St.P.O. Box 12276Austin 78711-2276


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Chair John L. Nau III Houston, 02-01-2027
Vice Chair John Crain Dallas, 02-01-2025
Board Member(s) Donna Bahorich Houston, 02-01-2025
Earl P. Broussard Austin, 02-01-2023
Jim Bruseth, Ph.D. Austin, 02-01-2025
Monica Burdette Rockport, 02-01-2027
Garrett Donnelly Midland, 02-01-2023
Renee Dutia Dallas, 02-01-2025
Lilia Garcia Raymondville, 02-01-2027
David Gravelle Dallas, 02-01-2021
Laurie Limbacher Austin, 02-01-2023
Catherine McKnight Dallas, 02-01-2023
Tom Perini Buffalo Gap, 02-01-2027
Gilbert E. "Pete" Peterson III Alpine, 02-01-2025
Daisy Sloan White College Station, 02-01-2023


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Executive Director Mark Wolfe (512) 463-6383
Deputy Executive Director Alvin Miller (512) 463-5767
Government Relations Vaughn Aldredge (512) 463-5754
Director of Historic Sites Joseph Bell (512) 463-8801
Division of Archeology Director Brad Jones (512) 463-5865
Division of Architecture Director Bess Graham, AIA, LEED AP BD+C (512) 463-6094
Division of Community Heritage Director Brad Patterson (512) 936-2315
Division of History Programs Director Charles Sadnick (512) 463-5854
Human Resources Director Jada Louhela (512) 936-2048 / (512) 463-5753
Division of Communications Director Chris Florance (512) 463-4565
Chief Financial Officer Kenneth Biddle (512) 475-0774


The commission provides leadership and coordinates services to support projects commissioned by county historical commissions, historical societies, agencies and institutions interested in the preservation of archeological and historical heritage. The commission also acts as a clearinghouse and historical information center.

* Subject to the Texas Sunset Act; will be reviewed in 2031.