Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Workforce Investment Council, Texas*

Return to Executive Agencies

19 Members - Term: 6 Years

General Information

1100 San Jacinto, Suite 1.100Austin, TX 78701


Office Office Holder Represents / Term Ends
Chair Mark Dunn Business and Industry, 09-01-2025
Vice Chair Richard "Rick" Rhodes Community-Based Organization, 09-01-2023
Board Member(s) Paloma Ahmadi Business and Industry, 09-01-2027
Joe W. Arnold Education, 09-01-2027
Jesse Cecil Gatewood Organized Labor, 09-01-2023
Lindsey Geeslin Organized Labor, 09-01-2027
Lauren Gore Business and Industry, 09-01-2025
Thomas Halbouty Business and Industry, 09-01-2025
Michael Hinojosa, Ed.D. Education, 09-01-2023
John Martin Organized Labor, 09-01-2023
Wayne Oswald Business and Industry, 09-01-2027
Paul Puente Organized Labor, 09-01-2027
Richard Rhodes, Ph.D. Education, 09-01-2025
Brandon Willis Organized Labor, 09-01-2025
Ex Officio Member(s) Adriana Cruz Executive Director, Economic Development and Tourism
Harrison Keller, Ph.D. Commissioner, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Mike Morath Commissioner, Texas Education Agency
Edward Serna Texas Workforce Commission
Cecile Erwin Young Health and Human Services Commission


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Director Lee Rector (512) 936-8102
Deputy Director Raul Ortiz (512) 936-8103
Executive Assistant Rita McBride (512) 936-8100
Editor Leslie McCormick (512) 936-8105
Program Specialist Position Vacant (512) 475-3437
Program Specialist Kaki Leyens (512) 936-8108
Program Specialist Anne Dorsey (512) 936-8106
Program Specialist Charlene Hamilton (512) 936-8110
Research Specialist David Mass (512) 936-8111
Research Specialist Rafael Gonzalez (512) 936-8109
Staff Services Officer Stephanie Vasquez (512) 936-8113


The council evaluates the Texas workforce system by analyzing data and reports, providing analysis and advice during policy deliberations, and integrating workforce programs to increase the benefits of these programs for all Texans.

* Subject to the Texas Sunset Act; will be reviewed in 2027.