Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Coastal Water Authority

7 Members - Term: 2 Years; 4 Appointed by the Mayor of Houston; 3 Appointed by the governor

General Information

1801 MainSuite 800Houston 77002


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
President Tony L. Council, P.E. Houston, 03-31-2019
1st Vice President Douglas Walker Chambers County, 04-01-2023
2nd Vice President Giti Zarinkelk, P.E. Harris County, 03-31-2018
Secretary/Treasurer Joseph J. Soliz Houston, 03-31-2018
Director(s) Position Open Harris County
Thomas Reiser Houston, 04-01-2023
Jon M. Sjolander Dayton, 04-01-2024


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Executive Director Donald Ripley, P.E. (713) 658-9020
Chief Financial Officer John J. Baldwin (713) 658-9020
Chief Engineer/Operations Manager David Miller, P.E. (713) 658-9020


The authority is a conservation and reclamation district located within Harris, Chambers, and Liberty Counties, and has the power to transport and deliver water inside and outside the authority, to acquire and construct all necessary properties and facilities necessary for such purposes.