Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Employees Retirement System of Texas

6 Members - Term: 6 Years; 6 Members - 3 Appointed Members, 3 elected by ERS members and retirees

General Information

Agency #: 327 200 East 18th St.P.O. Box 13207Austin, TX 78711-3207


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
Chair Brian Barth Austin, 08-31-2025
Vice Chair I. Craig Hester Austin, 08-31-2028
Trustee(s) Neika Clark Houston, 08-31-2027
Stuart Greenfield Ph.D. Austin, 08-31-2029
James "Jim" Kee, Ph.D. San Antonio, 08-31-2026
John R. Rutherford Houston, 08-31-2024


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Executive Director Porter Wilson (512) 867-7176
Deputy Executive Director Catherine Terrell (512) 867-7176
General Counsel Cynthia Hamilton (512) 867-7114
Director of Government Relations And Special Projects Jennifer Chambers (512) 867-7162
Media Relations Mary Jane Wardlow (512) 867-7171
Chief Investment Officer David Veal (512) 867-7526
Director of Customer Benefits Robin Hardaway (512) 867-7458
Director of Benefits Communications Kathryn Tesar (512) 867-7396
Chief Information Officer Chuck Turner (512) 867-7412
Acting Director of Group Benefits Blaise Duran (512) 867-7432
Director of Internal Audit Tony Chavez (512) 867-7443
Director, Procurement and Contract Oversight Gabrielle Schreiber (512) 867-7212
Chief Financial Officer Machelle Pharr (512) 867-7667


The board oversees an approximately $345 billion retirement fund and program for active and retired State of Texas employees, elected state officials and judges. ERS also administers health and other insurance benefits, the Texa$aver deferred compensation 401(k) and 457 plan and a flexible benefits program for state employees, retirees and dependents, as well as employees and retirees of Texas public higher education institutions, other than the University of Texas and Texas A&M University systems.