Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Medical Board, Texas*

19 Members - Term: 6 Years

General Information

Agency #: 503 1801 Congress Avenue, Suite 9-200P.O. Box 2018Austin 78768-2018


Office Office Holder Hometown / Term Ends
President Sherif Zaafran, M.D. Houston, 04-13-2027
Vice President Kandace Farmer, D.O. Highland Village, 04-13-2027
Secretary Michael E. Cokinos Houston, 04-13-2027
Board Member(s) Devinder S. Bhatia, M.D. Houston, 04-13-2025
George De Loach, D.O., P.A. Livingston, 04-13-2023
James "JD" Distefano, D.O. College Station, 04-13-2025
Robert D. Martinez, M.D. Mission, 04-13-2025
Jayaram B. Naidu, M.D. Odessa, 04-13-2027
Satish Nayak, M.D. Andrews, 04-13-2025
Manuel M. Quinones, Jr., M.D. San Antonio, 04-13-2023
Jason K. Tibbels, M.D. Decatur, 04-13-2025
David Vanderweide, M.D. League City, 04-23-2023
Public Member(s) Sharon J. Barnes Rosharon, 04-13-2023
Robert Gracia Richmond, 04-13-2023
Tomeka Moses Herod Allen, 04-13-2025
LuAnn Morgan Midland, 04-13-2027
Ebony Todd Fort Hood, 04-13-2027


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Executive Director Stephen Brint Carlton, J.D. (512) 305-7010 / (512) 305-7051
Medical Director Robert J. Bredt, M.D. (512) 305-7019 / (512) 305-7051
Board Coordinator/Executive Assistant Laura Fleharty (512) 305-7174
Govt. Affairs/Public Information Manager Taurie Sloan (512) 305-7044 / (512) 305-7051
Licensure Manager Grace Unterborn (512) 305-7030
f: (888) 550-7516
General Counsel Scott Freshour, J.D. (512) 305-7085 / (512) 305-7051

District One

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Physician Member Imran Dar, M.D.
Physician Member David D. Davila, D.O.
Physician Member Sheela Lahoti, M.D.
Physician Member Courtney Townsend, M.D.
Public Member Laural Coles
Public Member Kimberly Phillips
Public Member Aundrea Young

District Two

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Physician Member Carrie E. De Moor, M.D.
Physician Member Zachary J. Jones, M.D.
Physician Member Ivan D. Rovner, M.D.
Physician Member Robert B. Simonson, D.O.
Public Member Lewis J. Benavides
Public Member Kristen Cox

District Three

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Physician Member Ogechika "Oge" Alozie, M.D.
Physician Member Celeste Caballero M.D.
Physician Member Sharmila Dissanaike, M.D.
Physician Member Gabrielle Rich, D.O.
Public Member Michael Burley
Public Member Taylor Gillig
Public Member Mindi McLain

District Four

Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Physician Member Leanne Burnett M.D.
Physician Member Shirlene Samuel, D.O
Physician Member Bobby Marek, M.D.
Physician Member Andrew "Jimmy" Widmer, M.D.
Public Member Walton "Boyd" Bush, Ed.D.
Public Member Ruth Villarreal
Public Member Phillip W. Worley


The board protects and enhances the public's health, safety and welfare by establishing and maintaining standards of excellence used in regulating the practice of medicine and ensuring quality health care for the citizens of Texas.

* Subject to the Texas Sunset Act; will be reviewed in 2031.