Agencies, Boards and Commissions

Educator Certification, State Board For

15 Members - Term: 6 Years

General Information

Agency #: 701 1701 N. Congress Ave., 5th FloorAustin, TX 78701-1494


Office Office Holder Represents / Term Ends
Board Member(s) Robert "Bob" Brescia, Ed.D. Classroom Teacher Representative, 02-01-2029
Veronica Galvan, Ed.D. Alternative Education Prep. Prog. Representative, 02-01-2027
Bena Glasscock Counselor Representative, 02-01-2027
Michael D. McFarland Ed.D. Administrator Representative, 02-01-2027
Scott Muri Ed.D. Administrator Representative, 02-01-2029
Alma D. Rodriguez, Ed.D. Dean of College of Education Representative, 02-01-2029
Jean Streepey Classroom Teacher, 02-01-2025
Josue Tamarez Torres Classroom Teacher - Governor's Appt., 02-01-2025
Bobbie Lynn Weir Classroom Teacher-Governor's Appt., 02-01-2027
Public Member(s) Tommy L. Coleman Public Member, 02-01-2025
Julia Dvorak Public Representative, 02-01-2025
Rex Gore Public Representative, 02-01-2027
Courtney Boswell MacDonald Public Representative, 02-01-2029
Ex Officio Member(s) Emma Gelsinger, Ph.D. THECB Representative
Kelvey Oeser TEA Representative


Office Office Holder Phone / Fax
Associate Commissioner for Educator Leadership and Quality Position Open (512) 936-9831 / (512) 463-7795
Director of Strategic Compensation, Office of Educator Support and Systems Grace Wu (512) 936-8400 / (512) 936-8402
Director of Educator Certification Marilyn Cook (512) 936-8400 / (512) 936-8277
Director of Educator Data and Program Accountability Mark Olofson (512) 936-8400 / (512) 936-8402
Director of Educator Investigations David Rodriguez (512) 936-8400 / (512) 936-8404


The State Board for Educator Certification was created by the Texas Legislature in 1995 to recognize public school educators as professionals and grant educators the authority to govern the standards of their profession. The Board oversees all aspects of the preparation, certification and standards of conduct of public school educators.